Happy (Belated) Birthday Mum

September 10th. My Mum’s birthday. My mum was the one that taught me to cook and bake. From the age of two I was beside my mum on a stool helping with the mixing and adding ingredients as best a 2 year old could. From a young age I had my disasters, like when my mum told me to wash the leg of lamb and left me to it while she yapped on the phone. ten minutes later, “MUUMMM finished!” soap suds EVERYWHERE with the vinegar left on the side un-touched(what I was supposed to use). In my defence, I wasn’t given any instructions. Nevertheless we wiped off the suds, seasoned and cooked the meat, then eat it. Yummy!!

Originally my mum didn’t want to do anything for her birthday, put after me nagging her to do something we descended on the Veranda in Brixton for her pre birthday meal and rave (review on the restaurant coming on that soon)Of course I baked her a cake. Two in fact, one for her pre birthday and one for her actual birthday. Her favourite colour is purple so I made her a purple checkered cake( like the one here) with purple hued decorations. For her second cake I did a chocolate and almond sponge with a chocolate ombre buttercream icing(ombre is my thing at the moment). We had a dinner on her actual birthday which consisted of:

Cheese and onion vol au vents
Balsamic and mint roast lamb
Lemon and herb chicken
Seasoned chicken
Italian pork stew
Mini roasties
Ginger and lime prawns
Potato salad
Rice, Yorkshire Puddings, Mini stuffing balls
I must say so myself. It went down a treat especially the lemon chicken which ill do a post on that shortly. Unfortunately, due to the enormous amount of hungry people that arrived to celebrate and me rushing around like a headless chicken, I didn’t manage to get any photos personally but will scour around to see if anyone has got them.

But anyways…. HAPPPYY BIRRRTHHDAAAYYY MMMMUUUMMM!!!!

Oh So Sweet Baker x
Comments

  1. Well Done……So Proud of you!….

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

