German Chocolate Brownies

It was one of those days where I was craving something, sweet, fudgy and chocolatey, after a looooong week back at Uni. Last weekend I made 3 sets of novelty cakes, so I was defo not in the mood for chocolate cake, or any cake of the sort. After Umm..ing and Aahh…ing ( my indecisive side there) contemplating on whether or not I fancied BIG FAT chocolate chunk cookies or brownies. I settled on brownies.
I have to admit these brownies were made mainly by my brother. He did all the mixing and weighing, I just stood there telling him the measurements, so I cannot take full responsibility for these beauties. My little brother has this thing about coconut, chocolate and nuts since I rustled up a cake about 2 years ago and since then, it is his favourite flavour combination. The ingredients reminded me of  a cupcake I saw in my Martha Stewart book called ‘German Chocolate Cupcakes’. Considering the cake is called German Chocolate, it doesn’t actually originate from Germany or have any German chocolate in it. But it was named after someone whose last name was ‘German’. Okay enough of the history lesson now, back to the brownies…

There’s just something about fudgy, cake like brownies topped with moreish, chewy coconut and pecan top that just screams decadence. And as quickly as they are made, as quickly they disappear. Some people say it’s a topping, some say a frosting; but whatever you want to call it, it is by far the best bit of the whole brownie. I have this thing about the topping, glaze, frosting being the best bit. I really don’t know why??  Although in saying that,  I found myself uncontrollably eating the leftover mixture straight from the pan.

BE WARNED!! THESE ARE HIGHLY ADDICTIVE

For the brownie…
225g butter
160g dark chocolate
280g plain flour
1 tsp salt & vanilla extract
65g sugar
4 beaten eggs
60g toasted chopped pecans

For the coconut topping…
250g sweetened condensed milk
50g soft brown sugar
1 egg yolk
1tsp vanilla extract
25g butter
150g coconut
75g toasted, chopped pecans

Prepare a 9inch/23cm square baking tin. Preheat the oven to 180°C 
Melt 
butter and dark chocolate together in a small saucepan and allow to cool down. Mix the flour and sugar together the slowly incorporate the eggs, salt and vanilla.
Fold in the the chocolate mix and nuts till just combined. Pour into a prepared baking tin or disposable foil tray. Bake for 30-35mins. till firm to the touch. Leave to cool in the tin/tray for about ten minutes, then turn out onto a cooling rack to cool down

Coconut topping…
In a small saucepan, heat the condensed milk, brown sugar and vanilla till it starts to boil, stirring regularly.
Remove off the heat and allow to col before adding the egg yolk and butter. Stir in pecans and coconut and spread ontop of the cooled brownie. Cut into 12 equallish pieces and serve.

Enjoy
Oh So Sweet Baker x
Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

