Sausage Puffs with Pickled Coleslaw

This post is going to be a savoury post, if you couldn’t guess from the title. Yes I know my blog says ‘ Oh So SWEET Baker’ but it’s good to mix it up a little bit. I actually love cooking savoury stuff. ONLY at home. Don’t even try to get me to cook savoury in a professional kitchen NO WAY HOSÈ!! I hate cutting up veg into macèdoine and petite brunoise and slaving away over hot stoves (cheffy terms, google them). I can do it, I’m trained in kitchen, larder and pastry but I just rather not to be honest. The pastry section is much cooler and in my opinion more skillful. Enough on the industry.
Sausage, sausage, sausage, you know you love a a bit of sausage (except for all those vegans, and vegetarians unless it’s vegan sausage of course) Pork sausages are my favourite, turkey ones are nice also. I’m super fussy when it comes to buying sausages. I have a little sausage buying guide:

1. Must contain more than 65% sausage meat. I don’t want to eat sausages full of rubbish. I mean, if it’s not meat that’s going in, then what is?? :S

2. I only buy certain brands of sausages from the supermarket. These are ones that I have tried once before and they weren’t too oily/greasy, salty but had a nice flavour. I tend to stay away from the cheaper stuff, simply because they tend not to be all of the above

3. The brands I love, Porky Whites, Debbie & Andrew and Riverway

Sausage rolls are great, and this is my version of them. Nothing beats a home made sausage roll. No not even Greggs. And yes I cheated! I used shop bought puff pastry. Like I said here, it’s one of my favourite short cuts. I haven’t got the time to make it from scratch all the time, I just keep blocks of it in the freezer and defrost as necessary. This sausage mix is great for meatballs too…

For the sausage puffs…
35g  finely chopped smoked bacon
1 sprig of rosemary & thyme
1 spring onion
225g sausage meat from your favourite sausages
1/2 red onion finely chopped
1tsp garlic paste & mustard
Pinch of sugar & pepper
50g of flour + extra for dusting
1 block of all butter puff pastry (500g)
1 egg

For the pickled coleslaw…
1 grated carrot
1/4 white or red cabbage chopped
1/2 red onion finely chopped
3 tbsp sugar
150ml vinegar
1 small apple chopped
200g of mayonnaise

Place all the ingredients for the coleslaw except mayo and apple into a bowl and leave in the fridge. On a medium heat, fry the bacon with the herbs and onion. Allow to cool before combining with all the ingredients in a bowl Dust the surface with flour and roll out into large rectangle about 1/2 an inch thickand cut into 3 equal strips width ways and 4 length ways.
Spoon or pipe about a tbsp of the mix into the centre of 6 squares. Beat the egg and use this to brush around the edges of the squares. Using the leftover squares, place these on top and using your finger or fork, push down gently to seal the edges. Prick the top of the puffs with a fork to let some of the stem escape during cooking
Place on a lined baking tray and bake at 180°C for 20-25mins.
For the coleslaw, squeeze out all the pickling juice and mix with the mayonnaise and apple.

These can be either eaten hot, warm or cold. Up to you
Enjoy

Oh So Sweet Baker x
Comments

  1. These look so yummy – loving the sound of the coleslaw too!

Trackbacks

  1. […] the packet. Puff pastry is used to make Mille Feuille, or as I call it, Mille Feuille, Tarte Tatin, Sausage Puffs and Palmiers to name a few (probably do some recipes on those soon) @ number 2, ICE […]

  2. […] apple crumble with custard, or a moist apple cake (my nans favourite) or in savoury dishes such as sausage puffs(my version of sausage rolls) there will always be a teaspoon or three of cinnamon not too far […]

  3. […] on my blog, but now and then I put up a few savoury recipes such as Cheater’s Pizza or Sausage Puffs w/ Pickled Coleslaw (which is so good), so I thought I’d put up a savoury blog post of the […]

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

