It Won’t Be Long: Mini Blueberry & Almond Squares

As some of you my now from my recent posts that I started back in education. The amount of work I have is ridiculous and it’s so hard to get back into a motivational routine of doing the assignments. Hence why I have made a decision to slow down a bit on the baking and the blogging. Something had to take a back seat. Don’t forget if you want to see me with some baking related bits and pieces, check me out on Pinterest ( pinning during one of my long lessons :P)
For a few days my mum has been asking be to make a cake she saw in the Asda Magazine in their autumn edition. My mum loves the combination of fruit and nuts. That’s why you will see a lot of recipes with this combination. I decided to surprise her after a long day of work, I came home from uni and rustled these up in no time. They took bout 25min start to finish which I was well pleased about. The original recipe called for blackberries, but my mum likes blueberries so I used that instead. The blueberries almost turns into a sweet sticky jam which is delicious with the crunch from the almonds. If you don’t like nuts you can leave them out altogether and you can use other berries if preferred.

For the blueberry & almond squares…
250g softened butter
200g caster sugar
4 eggs
2tsp almond extract
210g plain flour
1tsp salt & baking powder
handful flaked almonds

– Preheat the oven to 170°C. Grease and flour a traybake.
– Cream butter and sugar together. Combine 200g of the flour, salt and baking powder with the butter mix.
– Gradually add the eggs and almond extract. Coat the blueberries with the flour mixture. Pipe or spoon into a tray bake tin  (this is the one I use). Sprinkle the ground almonds on top then bake for 18 mins.
– Don’t worry if the fruit sinks to the bottom
Et voila. If you don’t have traybake tin you could use muffin tins/cases instead.

Oh So Sweet Baker x
Comments

  1. I have read several good stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you place to make this type of magnificent informative web site.

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

