Ups and Downs: Oreo Stuffed Cookies + Good News

20121202_140240Well this week has been one hec of a roller coaster full of emotions. Firstly at the beginning of the week someone tried to break into my house AGAIN!! This is the 2nd time within 5 months this has happened to us. The first time they stole some money and my laptop with all my stuff on it. I’m not great with technology, so none of my stuff was backed up so I lost EVERYTHING!! All my coursework, photos, music ( I had over 4,000 songs) and all my cake related stuff and only just recently I could afford to get another. It’s not the same as my old one which I ADORED, but it is better than nothing :). I have lived where I am for over 10 years and nothing like this has ever happened until recently. It’s disgusting. I had to run around making sure all the valuables/gadgets were covered under an insurance just in case they tried to break in again. That just made my bad day even worse.20121202_140300

Later on in the week I received a letter from T-mobile that I owed them money after I cancelled my contract. T-mobile, known as EE has some of the worst customer service EVER! You pay for the mistakes of their staff and they don’t even offer some compensation for the inconvenience  it has caused you. So now I have to go and fork out money that I don’t owe. Pay now, argue later -_-.  This is only wednesday and I have still a couple days of drama that could still occur.  But after a terrible week I received some EXCELLENT NEWS20121202_140251I had been chosen with some other students to go to BUCKINGHAM PALACE for some work experience!!! Yes Buckingham Palace. The place where the Queen lives. I was told about it a week ago, but I didn’t get too excited till I received some sort of definite confirmation, which I received on Friday!! I’m not too sure on what I’ll be doing apart from a function for 1100 people but I don’t care, I’ll be in the palace cooking!!! This is a once in a lifetime chance and I’ll make sure I will make the most of this chance. So to get over my mid-week blues, celebrate the opportunity I have been given and just generally a reason to bake I made Oreo Stuffed Cookies. Yes. A WHOLE Oreo surrounded by a chocolate chip cookie topped with yet more Oreos. The cookie is moist and chewy, how  proper cookie should be. Not like those commercially made rocks they call cookies, studded with dark and milk chocolate chips.  These aren’t small dainty cookies for afternoon tea at the Ritz kind of cookies. These are MONSTER COOKIES. Perfect with a glass of ice cold milk or a chocolate milkshake.

For the oreo stuffed cookies… (makes approx 18)
165g soft butter
140g soft brown sugar
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
340g plain flour
1/2 tsp bicarbonate soda
50 g dark choco chips
40g milk choco chips
2 1/2 x 145g packets of oreo

Cream the butter and sugar together till creamy. Add the eggs, bicarb and half of the flour. Combine together then add the chocolate chips and the remainder of the flour.
Using a teaspoon, spoon a mix of cookie dough on a baking tray lined with greaseproof paper or a silicone mat. Place a whole oreo in the centre and press down until till the cookie dough has flattened. Spoon a tablespoon of cookie dough and place on top.
Chop up 5 oreos and sprinkle ontop of each cookie. Keep the cookies evenly spaced out as they spread when they are baked.
Bake at 180°C for 13mins. Leave on tray till cooled down slightly, then remove and place on a cooling rack. Repeat this process til ll the cookie dough has been used up.
I store my cookies in a jar with a piece of bread to keep the cookies soft and chewy.

Oh So Sweet Baker x

Comments

  1. Oreo in a cookie. Cookie in a cookie that is crazy might have to try it out

Trackbacks

  1. […] chocolate. Chocolate in the form of Oreos. I know I recently made something with Oreos, here and here, but if you aren’t fed up with Oreos this is just for you. I have to admit though. The […]

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

