Citrus Jelly with Caramelised Pink Grapefruit

20130102_122853After all that eating stuffing my face Christmas and New Years and I know I’m not the only one who did, the last thing I want to do is eat. I had Christmas dinner at my nan’s with my family, including my Aunty and Uncle from America who we hadn’t seen in over 5 years. The table was laden with chicken, lamb, ribs, potatoes and veg, 2 types of rice, plantain and my favourite pigs in blankets (My brother, the Squirt and I fight over these at Christmas). Then after boxing we went to my aunties for more food, laughter and games. New Years Eve, off to Eat As Much As You Like for more eating. I’m stuffed to the brim for at least a few days so I’m eating light for now.

20130102_122951After all the festive eating, comes the New Years Resolutions. Some of the top new years resolutions are generally to do with health and fitness. Eat more healthily, exercise more and lose weight. The exercise one I can’t really help you with I’m afraid. The first one I can try. A healthy recipe to kick start your healthy regime. Sure, we can have a fry up for breakfast or a stack of pancakes with chocolate sauce, but that isn’t a good way to start. We must start as we mean to go on.

20130102_123725The citrus jelly is light and refreshing. I put just enough gelatin in it so its just set and almost melts in your mouth releasing citrusy juices. Pink grapefruit is a new favourite in our house. It’s not as sharp as the normal grapefruit but sharp enough to compliment the sweet and sour juices of the other citrus. Caramelising the grapefruit gives it a thin crunch, as you scoop into the pool of orange jelly. This needs to be prepared the day before.

For the jelly…
250ml orange juice
Zest and juice of one lemon and lime
1tsp orange blossom water
2 tbsp water
50ml grapfruit juice (left from segmenting the grapefruit)
2 gelatin leaves

For the caramelised grapefruit…
1 grapefruit, segmented, patted dry (this needs to be done the same time as the jelly)
3 tbsp caster sugar

  • Soak the gelatin in cold water till softened. Warm the all the ingredients for the jelly except the gelatin in saucepan.
  • When warm, remove from the heat and add the gelatin till fully dissolved.
  • Place the serving glasses or bowls onto a tray then divide the orange mixture amongst the bowl. Leave in the fridge to set over night.
  • The next day, place the sugar into a frying pan on a medium high heat/ Put the segment of grapefruit in to the pan.
  • The sugar will start to turn a lovely golden brown. At this stage remove the grapefruit from the pan and onto a plate, caramelised side up.
  • Place three of the caramelised segments on top of each of the jellies just before serving.

Citrus jelly

Oh So Sweet Baker x

Comments

  1. Hey I saw your post at culinote and oh my … what a great idea! Citrus and jelly and grapefruit! Awesome..

  2. Love the colours of this and that jelly looks like edible orange juice

Trackbacks

  1. […] flesh. It’s just beautiful. There is no better way to have it than, just by it self or caramelised on top of jelly, but when I stumbled across a blog post for Pink Grapefruit Sandwich Cookie by Brown Eyed Baker, I […]

  2. […] The weather has been bright lately. Bright but cold. Do not be fooled. I was inspire by the random sunshineyness (is that even a word?) which reminded me of lemons. Lemon cheesecake, lemonade, lemon cake. I love lemons especially in one of all time favourite cakes. I know your probably thinking something with more citrus AGAIN!  I’m sorry I just can’t help it. The citrus is calling. But if your a fan of citrus click here. […]

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

