Sketch 2 Michelin Star Restaurant

2013-01-10 13.17.10Last week Thursday I went to Sketch restaurant on Conduit Street with uni. As soon as I walked in, it was not as I expected. It was dark with minimal lighting and a bit confusing as where I was supposed to go. I was greeted by a lovely lady who I can say, fitted well with the ambience of the place. The Glade, where the afternoon is held reminded me of the scenery in Alice in Wonderland and I half expected to see a giant caterpillar in the corner smoking. I waited over 5 minutes for my champagne to be poured, despite the waitress walking past our very cramped table several times. There was 5 of us seated around the small table, even though there was a table behind us free where two of us could have sat. Afternoon tea was served, making the table even more crowded.

2013-01-10 14.05.04The cucumber, ricotta and broccoli sandwich was refreshing and light. It was garnished with thinly sliced cucumber and beautiful edible flowers. I’m not a fan of ricotta but I quite enjoyed it. Croque monsieur with Conté cheese was packaged beautifully and tied with ribbon like a little parcel but was hugely disappointing. I’m pretty sure that a Croque Monsieur has ham in it but I was left searching for the ham. The overall sandwich was very greasy and the cheese had a very odd texture that oozed and got all over my hands so that was very unpleasant. The salmon sandwich was my favourite sandwich, minus the caviar. Smoky, salty salmon, sandwiched between soft and slightly sweet bread with a lemon and something that had the crunch of onions. Delicious. I didn’t even attempt the egg mayonnaise with soft boiled quails egg and caviar. I couldn’t face that runny yolk.

2013-01-10 13.33.47Christmas macaron packed a punch of cloves and cinnamon to the extent of it being over powering. Coconut and white chocolate lollipop was creamy and tropical, something that had to be eaten in one bite to release the liquid centre. It reminded me of Ferrero Rocher’s cousin Ferrero Raffaello without the almond inside. I HATED the fig and red port tart. I don’t know how to describe it. It was just weird and had a horrid after taste. The pomegranate coulis on top of the tapioca pudding was very thick and the champagne jelly didn’t taste of champagne so that was disappointing. Next I tucked into the lemon and basil tart, which was by far my favourite. The pastry was crisp and thin, and although I couldn’t taste the basil in the cream, the lemon topping was sharp and zesty lightened up by the minty green Italian meringue.

2013-01-10 14.24.29The chocolate and mint eclair lacked a distinctive mint flavour, but the filling was rich and creamy with the bitterness of the chocolate glaze and the crunch from the gold crisp pearls. Buttery and crumbly square shaped raisin scones, with thick clotted cream, with fruity apple jam and strawberry jam was a delight with my floral chamomile tea with fresh flowers that I ordered. One of my highlights. Now I know that what I’m about to write may come as a shock but it just has to be said.2013-01-10 13.31.312013-01-10 14.35.222013-01-10 14.52.23

The toilets are AMAZING. I mean Willy Wonka and the TV Room meets overgrown egg laying chickens, amazing. Above the egg shaped pods which are actually toilet cubicles was the brightly coloured rainbow ceiling which brightens up the all white bathroom. There was strange monkey noises which was weird, to the extent I was actually frightened to go the the toilet.

Overall would I go back, probably not. The food was okay but few items lacked in taste and flavour.
6 out of 10

Afternoon Tea £40 with Champange

sketch
9 conduit street
London W1S 2XG

Oh So Sweet Baker x
Comments

  1. lista de email says:

    this is pretty amazing

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

