Raspberry Granola Scones with White Chocolate Glaze

Rachel’s Yoghurt is the best yoghurt I’ve ever tasted, this is coming from a person who hated yoghurt apart from petit filous which is made for babies and toddlers, simply because of the sour after taste and the fact that the thought of yoghurt being a sort of by product from off milk just put me off. But after tasting this yoghurt, I was hooked. It’s creamy and doesn’t have that horrid after taste and and aaannnddd, it is usually low in fat or contains no fat. So YAY! all round really.

2013-01-23 16.39.08I had some of this left over in the fridge that I hadn’t got round to eating yet so I wanted to put it in a baked good of some sort. I really didn’t want to make cake as I still haven’t recovered from the mounds of cake I had eaten over the Christmas period. I wanted something that could be eaten warm that would work with some cream and some leftover granola I had rattling around. So I settled on these scones. It’s like having your breakfast all in one. Fruit, Check. Yoghurt, Check. Granola, Check.

2013-01-23 16.42.42Buying in season, means getting the best flavour possible from produce but since I couldn’t wait till summer to make these, I had to make do with some out of season raspberries. The dough for these scones are very wet so they aren’t suitable for cutting into rounds like the usual. I went for the American style of scones and cut them into wedges. Big monstrous wedges. If you want smaller wedges, divide the dough in half and continue as normal. Do be careful when drizzling on the chocolate using a ziploc bag. Mine burst, so I had to improvise spreading the chocolate around the centre and topping with more crunchy granola

2013-01-23 14.34.48Whilst I call these scones, I’m not too sure what they are really. It is like a cross between a scone, a cake and a cookie, but nevertheless they are tasty.  These sconey things are oaty and has a slightly chew edge, with bursts of sharp raspberry and mellow hints of vanilla and lemon. If the colour of the unbaked dough can’t tempt you enough to make these, then I don’t know what will.

Recipe adapted from Smitten Kitchen
For the scones…
120g wholewheat flour
220g plain flour
80g granola + 2tbsp
1tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
40g sugar
zest of 1 lemon
seeds from 1 vanilla pod
85g cold butter
140g raspberries
250ml yoghurt plus 1 tbsp

For the topping…
100g white chocolate
30g granola

Combine the all the dry ingredients (excluding 2tbsp of granola) with the lemon zest and vanilla seeds. Rub the butter into the flour till it resembles breadcrumbs.
Add the yoghurt and start to bring together before adding the raspberries till it forms a wet dough. Leave in the fridge to chill for 10mins
Preheat the oven to 200°C. Turn the dough out onto a tray lined with a silpat mat or baking paper. Squash down to form a circle and using a pizza cutter or knife mark out wedges. Brush the top with the 1tbsp of yoghurt and sprinkle on granola and sugar.
Bake in the oven for 25-30minutes
When cool, melt some white chocolate and CAREFULLY drizzle it over your scones an sprinkle on some granola

Oh So Sweet Baker x
The picture of the yoghurt doesn’t belong to me
Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

