Lemon & Blueberry Cake

2013-02-03 17.22.11The weather has been bright lately. Bright but cold. Do not be fooled. I was inspired by the random sunshineyness (is that even a word?) which reminded me of lemons. Lemon cheesecake, lemonade, lemon cake. I love lemons especially in one of all time favourite cakes. I know your probably thinking something with more citrus AGAIN!  I’m sorry I just can’t help it. The citrus is calling. But if your a fan of citrus click here.

2013-02-03 17.23.57I’ve been having a spell of bloggers block recently, but after having a slice of this cake, it’s like the words flew back to me, and here I am writing. I made this cake on sunday as a quick dessert for us to have after dinner and I just rushed through it so I could finish before I went to the gym. Cake before gym… Not too sure if that is a good idea, but hey I couldn’t resist and had the smallest sliver then worked that off. I wasn’t going to post this because I rushed it but someone asked me for the recipe and instead of numerous people ask me I thought it’d be best to do so regardless.

2013-02-03 17.24.06Atop this cake is a lemon cream cheese that almost tastes of lemon cheesecake and the blueberries when cooked, turn a beautiful purple hue that stands out against the bright yellow crumb. Adding cream cheese into the batter give the close crumb that holds it’s shape, but is delicate and soft in texture.

For the cake…
50g cream cheese 
1tbsp milk
3tbsp lemon juice
180g caster sugar
220g butter
zest of 1 lemon
3 eggs
220g plain flour
1 1/2tsp baking powder
1tsp salt
145g blueberries

For the cream cheese…
100g butter
80g cream cheese (cold)
220g icing sugar
3tbsp lemon juice
Hand full of blueberries

Preheat the oven to 160°C. Line, grease and flour an 6inch round cake tin. I used one with tall sides. If you haven’t got that, use two 6 inch tins.
Combine the cream cheese, milk and lemon juice and leave to one side
Cream the butter, lemon zest and sugar til creamy and fluffy. Beat the eggs together in a bowl and gradually add to the butter and sugar mix.
Fold in the flour and then the cream cheese mixture.
Pour into the prepared cake tin. If you are using two tins divide the mixture. Place the blueberries on the top and push down slightly.2013-02-03 13.04.48
Bake for about 45mins or until a skewer comes out clean. Allow to cool in tins for 10mins then transfer to a cooling rack.
Beat the butter til soft. Combine the lemons juice with the icing sugar then add to the butter and beat til smooth.
Add the cream cheese straight from the fridge into the butter and cream till smooth. Keep in the fridge till ready to use.
When the cake has completely cooled, trim the top and flip it upside down. The sunken blueberries are now on the top. Cover the cake with the cream cheese and garnish with. If you have baked the cake in two spread a layer of cream cheese and continue.
Garnish with blueberries and non pareils if you wish

Oh So Sweet Baker x

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

