Oreo Cake with Cream Cheese + Vanilla Winner Announced

2013-04-02 15.59.53I’ve been poorly for the past week. All I’ve done is been sick, ate crackers and drink lemon and ginger tea. Repeat several times. I couldn’t manage mum’s lovely lamb or salmon that she cooked on Sunday for Monday, I couldn’t go into work, where I have spent my last 6 days at my new job. I couldn’t do anything. And doing nothing, does sometimes get boring. I like doing nothing on my own accord. Being forced to do nothing well pretty much sucks!

2013-04-02 16.03.20

Easter has just passed and since I couldn’t eat my easter eggs (my brother did a good job of eating the mini treats that came with my easter egg though) I had heaps of chocolate eggs left over, which only meant one thing. Chocolate cake. A rich, almost black chocolate cake set off with a tangy, lightly sweetened vanilla cream cheese which looks striking against the dark background, finished with Oreos and juicy strawberries

2013-04-02 16.03.37Adapted from Citrus & Candy…
For the cake…
150g unsalted butter
120g milk chocolate
80g caster sugar
70g soft brown sugar
1 tsp coffee granules
100ml double cream
1tsp vanilla extract
3 eggs
190g plain flour
40g cocoa powder
1/4 tsp sea salt crushed
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
100g oreos, crushed

For the topping…
150g cream cheese
30g icing sugar
seeds of 1 vanilla pod

For the garnish…
oreos
strawberries

Preheat the oven to 170°C. Line a 10inch round cake tin with greaseproof paper
Melt together chocolate, butter, sugars, vanilla and coffee over a pan of simmering water till the sugar dissolves and allow to cool.
Combine all the dry ingredients together except the oreos.
Add the eggs and cream to the cooled chocolate mixture and add to the flour mix. Combine till incorporated. (The batter should be quite gloopy, similar to a brownie batter)
Pour the crushed oreos into the base of the tin and press down. Spoon the cake batter on top and spread evenly.2013-04-02 14.10.45
Bake the cake in the pre heated oven for approx 30 – 45mins or till a skewer comes out clean.
Leave to cool in the tin
For the topping, cream the cheese together with the vanilla seeds and icing sugar and leave to one side.
Trim the bottom of the cake and flip upside down, so the oreos are on the top.
Spread the top with cream cheese and garnish the oreos and sliced strawberries

2013-04-02 16.08.59Last month I hosted a competition where you could win a pack of vanilla courtesy of Vanilla Mart. I received a lot of entries via the raffle-copter link but not on the blog which was a must. The winners for that are Michelle & Juan P. I will be emailing you for your addresses shortly.
Oh So Sweet Baker x

Comments

  1. Amiee Cockrill says:

    Great post. I was checking this blog constantly and I’m impressed.

Trackbacks

  1. […] you have chocolate. Chocolate in the form of Oreos. I know I recently made something with Oreos, here and here, but if you aren’t fed up with Oreos this is just for you. I have to admit though. […]

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

