Peach Melba Parfaits

Peach Melba Parfait Layer - Oh So Sweet BakerBreakfast isn’t one of my favourite times of the day and I’m not too sure why?
I think it is because breakfast foods usually consists of yoghurt, porridge/oatmeal, cereals or some sort of eggs all of which I’m not a fan of. I can handle yoghurt, specific brands of course and eggs, scrambled or in a firm set omelette but that is about it.

I’m more of a fruit and toast sort of breakfast person, accompanied by green tea on chilly occasions. On the days where I am in the mood for oats and yoghurt, I usually opt for something with some sort of granola with fruit just side by side in a bowl. This time I decided to vary it up a bit and wandering away from routine by layering it in a glass. A sort of breakfast parfait if you wish.

Peach Melba Parfait 5 - Oh So Sweet BakerA lot of people seem to think granola is some what a ‘healthy option’. Yes it contains oats which is full of fibre and nuts which contain unsaturated fats and protein, but some brands can contain a stupidly un-healthy amounts of sugars. Where I used to work, I made a tooth breaking crunchy granola, which customers went crazy for. It was so crunchy that if you tried to break into one of the huge clusters it would probably break your teeth.

Peach Melba Parfait 1 - Oh So Sweet Baker

As strange as it sounds, it was perfect for all those office workers, who usually try to get work done whilst having breakfast which usually sat there getting soggy, to the extent when you managed to get to eat it or you was left with was limp oats. One time we ran out whilst I wasn’t in and replaced it with shop bought, customers of course complained so I had to make 3 x the batch.Peach Melba Parfait Spoon - Oh So Sweet Baker

The secret was the twice baking and the crazy amount of different sugars in the mix. Today we are being healthier so I have made a slightly softer but crunchy granola with a 1/4 of the amount of sugar. But still so yummy. I will however promise to to a post on my granola in the future.

I’m crazy for the classic Peach Melba flavours at the moment and I have a few more recipes to bring to you. This Peach Melba breakfast parfait is so quick and easy to make and the granola you can make ahead and store in a container.
Breakfast Parfait

We start off with raspberries, then add a layer of yoghurt and peaches. Then we crumble on some granola, coconut and nuts (very unconventional Peach Melba ingredients but soo good) then repeat until we have this lovely little layered breakfast waiting to be devoured. There is no exact recipe here just sprinkle on as much or as little of the ingredient you want.

Makes 1
For the parfait…
A handful of raspberries
1 peach, cut into chunks
Raspberry yoghurt
Pistachios
Almonds
Coconut Chips
Granola

For the granola…
200g oats
3 tbsp date syrup
pinch of salt
1 tbsp cashew butter
Splash of vanilla
50g nuts ( I used flaked almonds)

  • For the Parfait: Place some raspberries at the bottom of your serving glass.
  • Top with a few spoonful of yoghurt and peach chunks
  • Sprinkle on some nuts, granola and coconut, then repeat till the glass is full.
  • For the Granola: Melt the cashew butter with all the ingredients except the nuts and oats.
  • Warm till small bubbles appear, then remove from stove and add the remainder ingredients.
  • Stir till oats are evenly coated. Place and even layer of the oat mix onto a lined baking tray and bake at 160°C for 20 mins, stirring often to prevent burning.
  • Allow to cool and store in an air tight container for up to 3 weeks.

Oh So Sweet Baker’s Notes

  • Feel free to remove the nuts and coconut if you do not want the added crunch.
  • Vanilla, peach or Greek yoghurt can be used instead of the raspberry. I always recommend Rachel’s Yoghurt as it doesn’t taste too yoghurty.
  • I use either fresh or tinned peaches cut into chunks.
  • Both the date syrup, coconut chips and cashew butter is available to purchase from my Amazon Store

All views on this blog are my own. I was no way endorsed or paid by Rachel’s to recommend their product. I genuinely enjoy their product.

Oh So Sweet Baker x

Comments

  1. Mariah Wilson says:

    looks lovely

  2. This is gorgeous! I like breakfast foods, but never have time to really make them for myself, so I’m usually a toast and fruit sort of girl. I think I need to add parfaits to the mix!

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

