Pink Apple Kick Smoothie

pink kickIf you follow me on Instagram, which I hope you do, you will see that recently I’ve been posting quite a few pictures of smoothies. Simply because I am a smoothie addict. I love to drink smoothies for 3 simple reasons.

  1. I can’t eat breakfast before a certain time. As a chef I need to ensure that my stomach isn’t empty before going to work in the mornings. Before 9am my body doesn’t want to consume any food, so instead of me forcing down food because I HAVE to eat (and making myself be sick) I drink a smoothie instead and it fills me up till my next meal usually.
  2. I love the fact that you can put pretty much any fruit, veg, seeds or nuts into a smoothie and it can taste good. This means you can put vegetables into your drink, top it up with some fruit and there you have it. A great tasting drink that doesn’t taste of spinach or greens because the fruit masks the taste. Which also brings me onto my next point.
  3. Drinking a smoothies is a great way to kick start your 5 a day. I chuck in a load of fruit in and sometimes some veggies and slurp it up through a straw. Very simple way to get at least two portions of fruit and or veg into your diet.

When I make smoothies I usually use part frozen fruit and part fresh. The frozen fruit is to ensure that my drink is cold without having to use ice, which could water down the subtle tastes of the fruit.  I also ensure that I have something that will thicken up the smoothie making it more substantial and filling. I tend to use things like peaches, kiwi, cashews, mango, sometimes fat free yoghurt or on rare occasions a small piece of banana. I’ve even experimented with chia seeds, but not knowing it’s properties, I used too much and it came out CRAZY THICK.

Makes 1 smoothie approx
For the smoothie…
2 tbsp water
1 granny smith apple
80g frozen raspberries
A small piece of ginger

  • Add the ingredients in the order shown in a blender.
  • Blitz on low more then increasing to medium for 2-3 minutes until smooth
  • Pour into a glass and serve with a slice of apple and some raspberries

Oh So Sweet Baker’s Notes

  • If the smoothie is too thick add some more water or a few cubes of ice.
  • If you don’t have frozen raspberries on hand, use ordinary raspberries and add some ice to the top, leaving out the water.
Comments

  1. mmmm sounds nice

Leave a Reply

Oh So Sweet Baker

Heaven in a mouthful

Oh So Sweet Baker

Just another WordPress site

Pastry Affair

Heaven In A Mouthful

Chasing Delicious

Heaven In A Mouthful

Cupcake Project

Heaven In A Mouthful

Bakingdom

Heaven In A Mouthful

Sweetapolita

Whipping up a sweet life

Poires au Chocolat

Heaven In A Mouthful

raspberri cupcakes

Heaven In A Mouthful

